Iyengar Yoga Sequence: Hip Stability

by Nancy Zrymiak

Iyengar yoga teacher, Andrea Fulkerson, teaches the action of the hips in this 20 minute video. Learn with Andrea as she teaches 5 yoga poses:

  • creative sequencing
  • detailed instructions and demonstrations
  • variations with yoga props
  • strengthen the legs and integrate the actions of the thighs, pelvis, abdomen to stabilize the hips.


  • Standing poses become much more accessible when the body is supportive and strong.
  • Stability of the mind is felt when the body becomes integrated and stable.

Iyengar Yoga Sequence:

  1. Vajrasana
  2. Parsvottanasana
  3. Virasana
  4. Parsva Virasana
  5. Pavritta Trikonasana

About the Author

Nancy first discovered Iyengar Yoga in Bangalore, India in 2010. It took only one class to convince her that yoga was for her… for life. She completed her studies under the guidance of Senior Iyengar Yoga teacher, Louie Ettling and is now a certified Iyengar yoga instructor. In 2016 Nancy travelled to Pune, India to study with the Iyengar family. She teaches in New Westminster.  Follow Nancy on Instagram for more information.